Linux Certification

Linux CertificationLinux is one the most widely used operating systems today. It comes free, like UNIX, and resembles it in many ways. Linus Torvalds, a Finnish software engineer, gave birth to this amazing operating system and thousands of programmers around the world have contributed to its present state and success.

Linux certifications are offered by different professional associations, including Red Hat, Inc., CompTIA (Computing Technology Industry Association) and LPI (Linux Professional Institute). Certification is awarded to individuals having proficiency in the Linux operating system based on different skill sets, including installation, management, configuration, security, authentication, troubleshooting, documentation, and hardware.

Red Hat, Inc. Linux Certification
Red Hat Certifications are highly valued in the IT market. The certification hierarchy goes in the following order, from beginner to expert levels.

  • Red Hat Certified Technician (RHCT) – This is the beginner’s level. It measures the ability to set up Red Hat Linux systems and append them to networks.
  • Red Hat Certified Engineer (RHCE) – This level measures abilities like configuration, security and troubleshooting of a Linux network system.
  • Red Hat Certificates of Expertise – These certificates add special expert skills to RHCE certification like storage management, system monitoring and performance tuning, directory services and authentication, and so on.
  • Red Hat Certified Datacenter Specialist (RHCDS) – This certification assesses the system administration skills.
  • Red Hat Certified Architect (RHCA) – This is the highest level of certification. It is needed to manage larger networks in complex environments.

CompTIA Linux Certification
CompTIA’s Linux+ Certification is vendor-neutral and widely accepted. Many companies like Microsoft, Hewlett-Packard, and Cisco trust CompTIA’s certification as a guarantee of experience and knowledge. Six-to-twelve months of practical Linux experience is necessary for taking the exam. Certification ensures proficiency in skills like installation, management, configuration and security of Linux based client and server systems.

LPI Certification
LPI Linux certification is vendor-neutral and supported by various companies. Certification has three levels:

  • Junior Level Linux Professional (LPIC-1) – LPIC-1 certifies basic operating system and networking skills.
  • Advanced Level Linux Professional (LPIC-2) – LPIC-2 certifies advanced skills like installation, maintenance and security of a small-to-medium mixed network.
  • Senior Level Linux Professional (LPIC-3) – LPIC-3 certifies special expert skills like mixed environment, security, high availability and virtualization, web and intranet, and mail and messaging.

As more and more corporations adopt Linux as the networking backbone of their IT systems, the demand of certified professionals will increase. These certifications provide experience and knowledge, and passing them will help to broaden your career options.

Tags: ,
Previous Post
Defragging Your Computer

How to Defrag Your Computer

Next Post
Visual Studio 2008

Chapter 1 from Professional Visual Studio 2008


    • Tommy
    • January 7, 2013

    Would love to get a Linux cert even though my job doesn’t require it I think it would help my chances at being a sys admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *